LICENSING AND RENEWAL
How to Become Licensed
To obtain a California Real Estate salesperson license, you must first qualify (you must be at least 18 years of age, be a California Resident and full disclosure). Then you must pass a written DRE examination including Code of Ethics. Those who pass the examination are provided with a DRE license application which must then be submitted to and approved by the California Department of Real Estate.
Broker License Requirements
To become a real estate broker, you must have a minimum of two years full-time licensed salesperson experience within the last five years or the equivalent. You must also complete eight (8) college level courses. More information can be found on the California Department of Real Estate.
Salesperson License Requirements
The salesperson license is mandatory for individuals who conducts licensed real estate activities as described in the Real Estate Law under the supervision of a licensed broker. A license may also be obtained by an individual who does not immediately intend to be employed by a broker. However, a salesperson without an employing broker may not perform acts requiring a real estate license.
Licenses are issued for a four-year period and should be renewed prior to the expiration date listed on the license. As a courtesy, the LBOR emails and the DRE mails a renewal reminder letter to the licensee's mailing address of record 60 days prior to the license expiration date. Using the eLicensing offers expedited processing.